Morals and Dogma of the Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite of Freemasonry



by Albert Pike


Morals and Dogma has been described as “a collection of thirty-two essays which provide a philosophical rationale for the degrees of the Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite. The lectures provided a backdrop for the degrees by giving lessons in comparative religion, history and philosophy”. Its composed by 32 chapters (1 per degree in the masonic ranks of the southern jurisdiction, the 33° being the only exception), These chapters generally consist of Comparative Religion, Philosophy, Comparative Etymologies, Symbolism, and Numerology.

The primary themes of this great work are the “Secrets” or the “Great Mysteries” and their symbolism & rituals. It is stated that nothing in the book is meant to reveal any of the secrets to freemasonry but to simply hint or shed light. An emphasis on religious and cultural tolerance is shown throughout the work, emphasizing that the root of all religion was the same. These common traits and symbols in all religions are explained in detail, beginning with the Orphic Egg or Cosmic Egg, and then moving towards ancient Egyptian, Phoenician, Buddhist, and Hindu texts, and the Abrahamic religions.

A copy of Morals and Dogma was given to every new member of the Southern Jurisdiction from the early 1900s until 1969 (although some local Scottish Rite bodies offered copies through the mid-1970s), when it was deemed “too advanced to be helpful to the new Scottish Rite member.




I – Apprentice

II – The Fellow-Craft

III – The Master



IV – Secret Master

V – Perfect Master

VI – Intimate Secretary

VII – Provost And Judge

VIII – Intendant Of The Building

IX – Elect Of The Nine

X – Illustrious Elect Of The Fifteen

XI – Sublime Elect Of The Twelve Or Prince Ameth

XII – Grand Master Architect

XIII – Royal Arch Of Solomon

XIV – Grand Elect, Perfect, And Sublime Mason



XV – Knight Of The East Or Of The Sword

XVI – Prince Of Jerusalem

XVII – Knight Of The East And West

XVIII – Knight Rose Croix



XIX – Grand Pontiff

XX – Grand Master Of All Symbolic Lodges

XXI – Noachite, Or Prussian Knight

XXII – Knight Of The Royal Axe Or Prince Of Libanus

XXIII – Chief Of The Tabernacle

XXIV – Prince Of The Tabernacle

XV – Knight Of The Brazen Serpent

XXVI – Prince Of Mercy, Or Scottish Trinitarian

XXVII – Knight Commander Of The Temple

XXVIII – Knight Of The Sun, Or Prince Adept

XXIX – Grand Scottish Knight Of St. Andrew

XXX – Knight Kadosh



XXXI – Grand Inspector Inquisitor Commander

XXXII – Sublime Prince Of The Royal Secret


ISBN 978-8417732844
Pages 745
Width 6.14 in
Height 9.21 in